Skip to main content

Find disaster recovery services and support

First select disaster or event(s)Expand list
Select assistance typeExpand list
Image of the new Australian Fire Danger Rating System

Knowing The Australian Fire Danger Ratings Could Save Your Life

Did you know that on 1 September 2022 Australia’s fire danger rating changed? The new simplified and action-oriented fire danger rating system makes it easier for people to make decisions to stay safe on days of fire danger risk.

You can see the new ratings below which are the result of a national project led by the National Emergency Management Agency, Bureau of Meteorology, NSW Rural Fire Service, and Australasian Fire and Emergency Service Authorities Council.

The updated Australian Fire Danger Rating System uses four easy to recognise rating levels, each with a message to encourage you to take action to protect yourself and others in the face of bushfire risk. 

The fire danger rating levels are:

  • Moderate: Plan and prepare
  • High: Prepare to act
  • Extreme: Take action now to protect your life and property
  • Catastrophic: For your survival, leave bush fire risk areas

The white bar under Moderate indicates No Rating for days where no proactive action is required by a community. This does not mean that fires cannot happen, but that any fires that start are not likely to move or act in a way that threatens the safety of the community.

Image displaying the new Australian Fire Danger Ratings

It's important to know what to do and what each rating means, you can learn more about these ratings and what each means from AFAC, the National Council for fire and emergency services.

You can also seek information from your state or territory fire and emergency service agency:

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales

Northern Territory


South Australia



Western Australia