COMMUNIQUÉ

National Emergency Management Ministers' Meeting

18 June 2021

The second National Emergency Management Ministers' Meeting (NEMMM) was held on 18 June 2021. Emergency management ministers and nominated senior officials from Australian, state and territory governments and the Australian Local Government Association, participated in the meeting.

The Minister for Agriculture, Drought and Emergency Management, the Hon David Littleproud MP, chaired the meeting, which focused on progress toward addressing priorities set by the National Federation Reform Council associated with the recommendations of the Royal Commission into National Natural Disasters (Royal Commission).

SUMMARY OF DECISIONS

Update on recovery form recent disaster events

The NEMMM were provided with an update on recovery efforts from recent disaster events by the Hon Shane Stone AC QC, Coordinator-General National Recovery and Resilience Agency and Mr Joe Buffone PSM, Director General Emergency Management Australia. This included recovery arrangements for: flooding in Queensland and New South Wales in March 2021; Wooroloo bushfires in February 2021 and Tropical Cyclone Seroja in Western Australia in April 2021; and the severe storms and flooding in Victoria in June 2021.

Update on the National Recovery and Resilience Agency, Australian Climate Service and enhancements to Emergency Management Australia

The NEMMM were provided with updates on the National Recovery and Resilience Agency, Australian Climate Service and enhancements to Emergency Management Australia.

Update on progress toward addressing priorities set by the National Federation Reform Council associated with recommendations of the *Royal Commission into National Natural Disaster Arrangements* (Royal Commission)

The NEMMM considered updates on the National Federation Reform Council identified Priority Actions of the *Royal Commission into National Natural Disaster Arrangements* and agreed to continue prioritising their implementation.

Commonwealth update to the tracking of all recommendations of the Royal Commission and discussion relating to other Royal Commission priorities

Members of the NEMMM noted the update on the implementation of the Royal Commission into National Natural Disaster Arrangements (Royal Commission) recommendations, noting that to date the Commonwealth, Victoria, South Australia, Tasmania and the Australian Capital Territory Governments have formally responded to the Royal Commission report. The NEMMM tasked the Australia-New Zealand Emergency Management Committee to consider additional Royal Commission recommendations to be prioritised for implementation.